Arizona

18 January 2013

Lot 106

1931 Cadillac V-12 Town Sedan by Fisher

To be auctioned on Friday, January 18, 2013

Sold for $49,500

  • Serial no. 4000698


Series 370A. 150 hp, 368 cu. in. OHV V-12 engine, three-speed Selective Synchro-mesh transmission, ¾-floating rear axle, and four-wheel mechanical drum brakes with vacuum assist. Wheelbase: 140 in.



• Recent restoration by Bob Lorkowski, of L’CARS Automotive Specialties

• Includes owner’s manual, shop manual, and Fisher Body manual

• Highly regarded V-12 performance and drivability

• CCCA Full Classic



The year 1931 is considered by many the apogee of Cadillacs of the Classic Era. The GM division introduced a new V-12 series to fill the gap between the V-8 and the V-16. “The Standard of the World” was hardly an understatement among luxury marques with offerings of 134-, 140-, and 143-inch wheelbases; bodies by Fisher and Fleetwood; three different engine configurations; and the more moderately priced LaSalle as part of its lineup. This was the beginning of a trend that eventually led to Cadillac’s domination of the luxury car field in terms of sales.



The new V-12s sold surprisingly well, but at the expense of the larger V-16. The V-8 Cadillacs arrived in dealers’ showrooms in September, with V-12s arriving one month later. Both were catalogued in a choice of 12 Fisher-bodied models, as well as 10 semi-custom Fleetwood-bodied models.



Once part of the Imperial Palace Collection, this beautiful Cadillac Town Sedan was sold in 1991, undergoing a full restoration some years later. It is pictured on pages 10–11 of Vintage and Classic Auto Images – 70 Years of Car Design Evolution by Tom Brewitz. The current owner purchased the car in May 2004, after which he began an exhaustive four-year restoration to original, correcting many of the errors made in the previous restoration. Bob Lorkowski, of L’CARS Automotive Specialties, was chosen, completing the exacting body-off restoration of the two-tone maroon CCCA Full Classic in October 2010. Included are both shop and owner’s manuals, as well as a 1926–1931 Fisher Body Service Manual for closed body models. The car includes a restored original Cadillac accessory trunk and folding rack, and it is equipped with Senior Trippe driving lights. The owner describes the V-12 engine as “flawless, and it runs and drives exceedingly well.”



The car has not been shown since the completion of the restoration, allowing the new owner to debut it at the next CCCA, AACA, or CLC meet.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alain Squindo


Detroit, Michigan

Alain Squindo joined RM Auctions in 2007, after graduating from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., with a degree in History. R... read more

Alex Classick

aclassick@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Alex Classick joined RM Europe in 2011 as a car specialist, after graduating from Nottingham University with a degree in Business Mana... read more

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Alexander Weaver joined RM Auctions in 2011 as a car specialist, after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born into ... read more

Annette Abaci

aabaci@rmauctions.com

+49 (0) 40 441 95 737
Germany

With post-secondary degrees in Economic Science and Mechanical Engineering, Annette Abaci initially worked part-time at Mercedes-Benz ... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a senior car specialist, after more than a decade in the collector car hobby... read more

Dan Warrener

dwarrener@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Possessing a degree in Economics from Brandon University, Dan Warrener spent the initial stages of his career working around the globe... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmauctions.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don Rose joined RM Auctions in 2006, after many years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputatio... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmauctions.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, USA

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord joined RM Auctions in 1998, initially responsible for the transportation and logistics of the company’s auction and restora... read more

Ian Kelleher

ikelleher@rmauctions.com

+1 212 894 1301
New York, United States

Ian Kelleher began his automotive career immediately following his graduation from Oberlin College, with a B.A. in Political Science. ... read more

Jack Boxstrom

jboxstrom@rmauctions.com

+1 818 703 2816
Ontario, Canada

Jack Boxstrom joined RM Auctions in late-1996 to assist with the recently acquired, and subsequently record-breaking, auction in Monte... read more

Max Girardo

mgirardo@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Max Girardo started his career in the vintage automobile industry in 1998, joining Brooks Auctioneers (now Bonhams) as a car specialis... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Auctions, Mike Fairbairn has a longstanding interest in the classic car industry. Graduati... read more

Peter Wallman

pwallman@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Wallman joined RM Europe in 2007, following nearly two decades in the international advertising industry, read more

Peter Giddings

pgiddings@rmauctions.com

+1 925 831 2048
California, United States

A life-long car enthusiast, Peter joined RM’s California office with over half a century of experience in the automotive and rac... read more

Peter Blond

pblond@rmauctions.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Blond joined the RM Europe team in 2013 after being immersed in the collector car industry for more than 60 years. An... read more

Rob Myers

rmyers@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As chairman and founder of the RM Group of Companies, Rob Myers’s entire career has been devoted to the classic car industry. Ro... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Shelby Myers literally grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to w... read more

Vinnie Mandzak

vmandzak@rmauctions.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, USA

Vinnie Mandzak joined RM Auctions’ California office in 2012 as a car specialist, following more than 30 years’ experience... read more

Jeff Whiteside

jwhiteside@rmauctions.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Jeff Whiteside joined RM Auctions as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer following almost three decades in a diverse r... read more